Even seasoned drivers cannot always avoid a speeding ticket or a missed stop sign. However, those are not reason enough to get your license suspended. Multiple violations over some time or a severe offense invite trouble.
In the US, most states use a point system to evaluate your license status. Accumulating a legally defined number of points leads to license suspension.
Generally, states consider points recorded in a period of two to three years.
Standard crimes leading to issues, along with their occurrence rates, are –
- Speeding – 20%
- Failing to stop – 19%
- Driving under the influence (or DUI) – 79%
- Illegal turn – 32%
- Reckless driving – 73%
- At-fault accidents – around 30%
What do state laws say about points?
The more points you have on your record, the more severe penalty you will face. It depends on State laws on how your driving record will be assessed.
Some states also have an automatic license suspension resulting from DUI. No points are added to your name, but officers can revoke your license immediately.
Non-moving violations and minor offenses are usually not considered.
The State defines the law on the limit on the number of points before your license gets revoked.
California law states that suspensions arise from having 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, and 8 points in 36 months.
In Virginia, you lose your license with 18 points in 12 months. However, in Columbia, the limit is 10 points, and in Maryland, it is eight.
Follow up with the local legislation to find out the limit for license suspension in your State.
The points incurred from an offense also vary across boundaries. You receive five points for texting while driving in New York, while you get 3 points in Virginia.
Duration for points
While two to three years is the general duration for points on your record, significant offenses take longer for removal.
In California, a DUI or hit-and-run charge stays in your history for ten years.
In Nevada, points stick for a year, but they instate the automatic suspension law for major crimes.
What should you do?
In case you receive points or tickets, you can follow remedies to remove them sooner.
Several states offer defensive driving classes as a certification course to validate your driving skills and deduct points.
Please find out more about license suspension and their remedies from experts by filling up the form on our website.